Sayonara Japan?

Dear Japan,

This may be the end for us.

I first met you in high school. I was introduced to you because Spanish already had a date, and according to my older sister, French would not be good to me.

I mildly enjoyed our first three years together, but it was the one summer when I went with you back home when I truly fell in love. I learned a different side of you, and in turn, learned a great deal about me. I felt that summer was our first step towards something truly special.

You went with me to college. In true Williams fashion, our steady relationship was more like a marriage – we were inseparable. I simply couldn’t live without you, and everyday, my love for you grew.

After I graduated, we decided to take our relationship to the next level and move in together. I can honestly say that those were two of the best years of my life. I can’t even count how many amazing moments we had: breaking in dawn in Osaka, Tokyo, Hiroshima, Sapporo and Fukuoka; laying out on the beach together in Okinawa; and who could forget our tiny studio next to rice fields in Shimane and the special times we shared there.

Eventually, we moved back to San Francisco so that I could be with my family. At first things were rocky, but of course, we persevered…until last Friday.

It’s been a week since we’ve spoken to each other. Our separation happened so fast, and I’m to blame. It wasn’t you; it was me. I felt that in order for me to grow, we needed to spend some time apart. I haven’t thought about you until now. And as bad as it sounds, I don’t regret my decision.

I always thought that we’d be together until the end, but things change. People change.

ちょっと悪いけど、今俺と君のことは無理だ。ここまでにありがとう。またいつか会う気がするけど、とりあいず、さようなら。

Rod

Leave a Reply

