Quesadillas turned Fajitas

After spending the day at Angel Island and a nice Saturday nap, I woke up around 8PM. I’m still not drinking, and I didn’t really feel like going out. I was going to walk over to a neighborhood Malaysian/Singaporean restaurant to have dinner by myself, but it was too crowded. So I decided to head to Andronico’s for food inspiration. I was originally going to make mac and cheese, but after browsing the ‘ethnic’ section, I decided to go with quesadillas.

Ingredients:

  • wheat tortillas
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 3 mushrooms
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • chicken

Dice all of the ingredients. Cut the chicken into small pieces.

Grading cheese will add more flavor, as opposed to buying already graded cheese. I went with sharp cheddar.

Saute the ingredients. Start with the bell pepper, onion, and garlic. After they start to brown, add the diced chicken and mushrooms. For seasoning, I used fresh group pepper, sea salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper.

As I was sauteing, I realized that this was too much food to fit into a quesadilla, so I ended up making fajitas. When the saute was almost finished, I popped two tortillas into the oven to warm-up. After the tortillas are nice and toasty, plate the food.

And voilà!

The seasoning was subtle and not overpowering. The flavor and the heat built nicely towards the end of the meal (I did not use any hot sauce, surprisingly).

What I would’ve done differently:

  • Had I known that I was making fajitas, I would’ve bought taco-sized flour tortillas.
  • I also would’ve bought boneless chicken breast, had the butcher’s shop still been open, as de-boning is a pain in the butt.

Leave a Reply

