Taking back Friday

One movie ticket. 2 tall Starbucks coffees. 2 pieces of leftover pizza. This was probably one of the cheapest and best Friday nights that I’ve had in a while.

Today, I spent time with the person that I should enjoy spending time with the most – me. In a society of constant movement and stimulation, it’s hard to unplug and just think. Time set aside for reflection is highly underrated and very rare. I found that once I sat back and became an observer, as opposed to an actor, I started to think. Thoughts about life. Am I happy with where I am? Am I close to achieving my goals? At this pace, will I be where I want to be in 5, 10, 15 years? No x3.

While the past few months have been eventful, I feel like I’ve been a passive actor. Wake up. Go to work. Horse around until bed. Sleep. Repeat. Things that I have looked forward to were 5 o’clock, alcohol, and getting time to pass quickly. A bit depressing once I started to think about it. What I realized is that I’m essentially the same person in the same place that I was a year ago. I said that 2009 was about growing up and that 2010 is about moving forward. Well, it’s time to move forward.

I was once told that if you don’t know where you’re going, you’ll never get there. Well if you don’t make the effort to get where you want to go, you’ll just be stuck in neutral. Time to put it in drive, baby.

Leave a Reply

